Forum Friday

We’ve had another down time for posts here at Ophelimos.  Back-to-back busy weeks have left me with little time to research, write, and post the Psalm studies.  I wanted to keep those of you who read regularly updated – I am not cutting back nor am I giving up that facet of Ophelimos.  The posts will just be sporadic from time to time.

Thankfully, we still have Forum Friday!

On to the Links…

  • Joshua Skogerboe continued his series on Joy this week with post #3.
  • As a pastor, I have made it a practice to translate the passages I am preaching on (when I preach from the NT – I don’t know Hebrew well enough to translate).  Occasionally, people will ask me why I bother to take the time to translate when we have several adequate-to-excellent English translations freely available to us already.  The first paragraph of this post by Bill Mounce helps explain why.
    • Consequently, if you take the time to read the entire article, I think Mounce misses the Gospel in his application.  Our righteousness exceeds the righteousness of the Scribes and Pharisees only when we are covered with the righteousness of Jesus Christ.
  • Two posts from the Ligonier Ministries blog for your reading enjoyment:
    • R.C. Sproul, Jr. tackles the ever-controversial issue of dressing up for church.
    • Stephen Lawson writes up an excellent profile of Martin Luther’s life.
  • Here’s an excellent two-part series from Paul Tautges on the characteristics of a faithful pastor (Part 1, Part 2).
  • I tweeted earlier today what an excellent job the writers of the Grounded 3:17 blog are doing, ant it’s no lie.  Here are three more examples:
    • Sarah reminds us that in Jesus Christ, even living in North Dakota can be exciting (I know this, because I grew up in ND).
    • If you’ve read Forum Friday for the past couple of weeks, you’ve had the chance to follow Naomi’s series on contentment.  Here’s part three.
    • Katelyn (my sister) with a brief look at the significance of Jesus fulfilling the OT concept of the year of jubilee.
  • There was some great content churned out by various writers at The Gospel Coalition this week:
    • Justin Taylor give me some more fodder for the Psalms studies with a look at the beauty of Hebrew poetry.
    • Tullian Tchividjian continues his consecutive links-from-Forum Friday streak with this post, and gives us this quote: “By his Spirit, Christ’s continuing subjective work in me consists of his constant, daily driving me back to his completed objective work for me.”
    • Another Psalms link!  David Schrock with a look at Psalm 78.
    • Kevin DeYoung gives us a reminder of our proximity to Babylon.
  • Last, but not least, I’m following a new (well new to me, at least) blog: Kingdom People, written by Trevin Wax.  He breaks into Forum Friday with a post on the homosexuality debate.

That’s all for now.  Thanks for taking the time to read Ophelimos, and have a great weekend!

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

