Responding to Psalm 2

For the entire study on Psalm 2, here is verses 1-3, verses 4-6, verses 7-9, and verses 10-12.

I have to admit that even as a conservative, confessional Lutheran, there are times when I don’t take Martin Luther very seriously.  Luther is nothing if not a product of his own times.  If he wants to see a heresy committed by the pope, he’ll see a heresy committed by the pope.  He’s an incredible Bible interpreter and expositor, but sometimes he just seems a bit off his rocker to me.

One of the areas I viewed Luther with skepticism was on some of his interpretations of the Psalms.  I used a quote from Luther in the first post on this blog.  “The Psalter ought to be a dear and beloved book, if only because it promises Christ’s death and resurrection so clearly and so depicts His kingdom and the condition and nature of all Christendom that we may call it a little Bible.”  How could Luther possibly see so much theology in the Psalms when so many of them seem obscure and/or vague when I read them?

Then I got into the study of Psalm 2.  And I saw how Luther skillfully pulled out Christology from verses six and seven.  As he saw it, this psalm definitively declares that Jesus Christ is both fully human and fully God.  And you know what?  He’s right!

I was completely amazed that just taking the time to dig deeper into each verse of a psalm I had never really understood informed my faith so much.  I’ve read this psalm dozens, if not hundreds of times before.  All I really knew is that this psalm talked about Jesus and that it was quoted in the book of Acts a couple of times.

This is the beauty of Bible study and the reason why I have desperately needed to improve this area of my spiritual walk.  I’m missing out on a wealth of blessing, encouragement, and faith-strengthening teaching every time I glaze over the Word of God and fail to stop and grasp what it is actually saying to me.

Here’s to being thankful that an off-his-rocker doctor of theology and reformer knows more about the Bible than a 31 year-old brand new pastor does.  And here’s to being even more thankful that God provides us with spiritual nourishment when we take the time and let ourselves be fed by His Word.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

