Focus Friday

I’ve decided to focus my efforts here at Ophelimos.  This first week of blogging and Bible study has been such a blessing to me that I’ve decided to make the entire focus of the blog on Bible Study.  I originally planned to have some posts of a more general nature, but the need for Bible study is so great in my life, and the potential to actually help others who are struggling in the same area is so appealing, it’s time to have a focused effort here.

The focus here on a weekly basis will continue to be a verse-by-verse study of the Psalms, looking at each chapter consecutively.  After each psalm is done, I will write a personal response/devotional/meditation to the study of the psalm.

Here’s where the first new feature comes in to play.  I am going to ask a guest to post a response/devotional/mediation also based on that particular psalm’s study.  I’m hoping that this will not only give me insights on how to continue to develop the writing and Bible study here, but also show those who read Ophelimos how different and varied applications of the same study can be.

With that in mind, I need your helpI need to know who is out there reading the blog on a regular basis.  Judging by my site stats, it looks like there are about 10-15 regular readers of OphelimosIf you are out there, either leave a comment on this post, or shoot me an e-mail at jason [dot] gudim [at] gmail [dot] com.  I will, from time-to-time, ask you to write a short, devotional article in response to whatever psalm we’ve just finished studying, similar to yesterday’s postFeel free to turn me down if I ask you, but don’t make it an automatic denial, either.  Pray about it.

Another way to help out is to spread the word about Ophelimos.  If you are reading this, and have found this first week of writing to be beneficial, encourage others to check it out.  I confess that I am terrible at self-promotion, and I also hate to do it, so I’m relying on the help of others.

By spreading the word, you’re helping me out in two different ways.  First, the more people that are reading, the broader the range I have to select people to write responses to the studies, and the more we’ll all be blessed by reading how God is working in everyone’s lives.  Second, if I’m serious about this blog being more than just a personal online journal, I’m going to actually need others to be aware of it.

I’m continuing to brainstorm and record ideas for Bible study-driven content.  Aside from the Psalms study, here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

  • Each Friday, I’m going to be posting a series of links to articles that I’ve read throughout the week that help in the area of Bible Study and our Christian walk (see below).
  • In addition to this, I’m hoping to have a guest blogger post a different Bible study so we don’t get bogged down by focusing only on Psalms.
  • Saturday, I will be posting an interview with a different person, usually a member of the blogging community or someone involved in full-time ministry.  Maybe both.
  • On Sundays, the current plan is to post the manuscripts of sermons I’m preaching as pastor of Faith Free Lutheran Church.

Again, the idea here is to have profitable (ophelimos), varied, conservative Bible study so that each of us (including myself) can grow in this crucial area of our spiritual lives.  If you have any ideas, feel free to post them in the comments or to shoot me an e-mail.

On to the links…

Links of the Week

These are articles that I’ve read (or at least perused) during the last week.  While they all may not be directly about Bible study, they all should help us in studying our Bibles more effectively in some way or another as we live out our lives as Christians in the world.

Answers in Genesis has an apologetics-driven article about the doctrine of the Trinity.

Josh Skogerboe, a friend of mine and seminarian at AFLTS, posted an excellent article about church music.

Gene Veith writes on his blog about Tullian Tchividjian’s story of discovering the writings of Bo Giertz.

Ryan Egan, another friend of mine and blogger at I Am an Offering, talks about the downfall of pride for those in positions of leadership.

A good article at Christianity Today regarding misconceptions modern-day evangelicals have about the Apostle Paul.  I don’t agree with everything in the article (I think he misses some Law/Gospel application in particular), but it was a good read, and there is a very beneficial section on Paul’s teaching about the congregation

, , , ,

  1. #1 by jskogerboe on July 22, 2011 - 3:26 pm

    Hey Jason. I didn’t know you were blogging. I haven’t been following, but will be now. Thanks man. I like your focus here. Bible Study – we need grounded ongoing study of the Word. God bless your study and your writing, brother. 🙂

    By the way… shouldn’t someone be curating an AFLC Blogroll at this point?? Hmmm… Maybe a Facebook list. Wheels are turning.

    • #2 by Jason on July 22, 2011 - 3:34 pm

      Thanks Josh. Haven’t been blogging long (just a week) but I’m really enjoying it so far. I’m all for the AFLC blogroll. I’m always looking for new material to consume. I didn’t find you blog until this week, and I’ve really loved everything you’ve written so far.

  2. #3 by Renah on July 22, 2011 - 4:31 pm

    Hey Jason– haven’t read all your posts so far but plan to! This is a grand idea… 🙂

  3. #4 by kurt on July 23, 2011 - 10:08 pm

    i read.

Leave a Reply

