Getting Started

First of all, what’s up with ophelimos?

I chose this name for the blog for a few reasons:

  • It allows me to quote 2 Tim. 3:16, which serves as a reminder of my stance on Scripture: I believe the Bible to be the inspired, inerrant, infallible Word of God.
  • It reflects my love of the original languages the Bible was written in: Hebrew and Greek (and Aramaic too!).  Ophelimos (ὠφέλιμος) is the Greek word that is translated “profitable” by the ESV in 2 Tim. 3:16.
  • The phrase “profitable for teaching” reflects at least part of my heart for ministry as a pastor.  I desire to preach and teach in such a way that people understand the Bible better, that they know what they believe and why they believe it, and that the grow as disciples of Jesus Christ.
  • Ophelimos is one of the few Greek words that most people will be able to pronounce (oh-fell-ih-moss) without pulling a muscle in their brains.
  • All of the other semi-creative ideas for a blog name were already taken on WordPress.

Why did I start a blog when everyone, their uncle, and their neighbor’s cat have a blog? 

Well, it’s almost entirely a selfish thing.  I’m not the kind of person that can just sit down, read something, and retain a whole lot from it.  By starting a blog and forcing myself to write my thoughts down in a (mostly) articulate format, I’m hoping to enrich my devotional life, my preaching (by becoming a better writer), and my teaching (by being able to express my thoughts more clearly and concisely).  I do also hope that others will actually receive some benefit from my posts.

With that in mind, I have a few ideas for this space:

  • I plan to start a daily devotional commentary working my way through the Psalms.  Martin Luther said of the book, “The Psalter ought to be a dear and beloved book, if only because it promises Christ’s death and resurrection so clearly and so depicts His kingdom and the condition and nature of all Christendom that we may call it a little Bible.”  Seems like a good place to start.  In working through the Psalms, I’m hoping to make use of the Septuagint (LXX – the Greek translation of the Hebrew Old Testament).
  • I plan to do at least a weekly recap (with links) of what I’ve been reading on the web.
  • I’m entertaining the notion of posting my sermon manuscripts on Sundays.
  • I will be talking about what I’m reading (more large-scale than web articles).
  • I have hobbies that I’ll comment on from time-to-time which include, but are not limited to: the Minnesota Twins, baseball in general, sports in general, movies, music, books, and video games.

I have attempted to start a blog and have failed more than once in the past.  I’m going to try to be holding myself accountable and not letting myself get discouraged if I happen to miss a day now and then.

Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy.

, ,

  1. #1 by Katelyn on July 18, 2011 - 8:35 pm

    I’m really looking forward to reading this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

